#8 Go vegan for a month

I am a keen cook and tend to make most of my meals from scratch although I tend to centre most of my meals around meat. This is mainly because any time I have tried to make a veggie chilli or curry Matty just complains ‘Where’s the meat Becki?’ I really love vegetarian food and when I’m eating out I often go for that option mainly because the veggie options are usually centred around my favourite foods halloumi and avocado!

I decided as part of my 30 list I was going to cut out meat mainly to force me to have to be a bit more inventive with my cooking. However I thought maybe being a vegetarian would be far too easy for me so decided to take it one step further and go vegan. For the girl who eats eggs every day for breakfast, puts feta cheese on everything and drinks copious amounts of tea and coffee this was going to be challenging.

I jumped on the veganuary bandwagon! I thought this was going to be the easiest month to do it with restaurants offering special vegan menus and supermarkets stocked high with lots of vegan foods.

IMG_1953
Power Bowl from my local vegan café ‘Greenhouse Horsforth’

The things I found from being vegan:

  • A lot of food you wouldn’t expect isn’t vegan. There is egg and whey in things like crisps and most upsettingly Soreen!
  • The meals I did make from scratch were pretty tasty. Highlights included Bosh’s carbonara with the sauce made out of tofu and cashew nuts and Deliciously Ella’s Sri Lankan Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Curry.
  • I actually cooked from scratch a lot less than I usually do. Mainly because sticking some meat in a wok with some vegetables is much easier than placing several books on a slab of Tofu to drain all the water out, such a faff. I ate a lot of Linda McCarthy Sausages, ASDA veggie burgers and ordered a few vegan pizzas.
IMG_1952
Ecco Pizzeria-Lombardini
  • Vegan cheddar is the most disgusting thing I have ever tasted. I went for an award winning vegan cheese and it still tasted like rubbery flowers.
  • Alternative milks are quite nice except in a cup of tea. I tried all milks and even tried some specially formulated tea bags designed for nut milks. Still not right!
  • It’s possible to eat out but sometimes the options aren’t as exciting, especially when you go for brunch and you can’t have eggs.

    IMG_1579
    Post long run vegan chilli from The Potting Shed Guiseley ❤

So am I still keeping up with being vegan? No.

I would say I am definitely eating less meat than I used to and will replace some of my midweek meals with veggie and vegan options but living in a world without eggs, halloumi and Soreen is not for me!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started